The Boys Are Back!

I don’t know about you but I’m hella excited about this one.

When I was a young loser instead of nearing middle age loser Trainspotting meant the world to me. I first read about it in a Newsweek, and it sounded so cool I stole it so I could hang it on my wall at home.

Eventually, finally the movie made it to the indie theater that was near my house. I was so excited, I got there early, grabbed my seat, and when it played… I couldn’t understand a single word of it.

I got the “choose life, choose family” part. But the rest sounded like a Monty Python skit about skag. And skag could have been anything.

I didn’t give up though. I went back, and back, until I could finally suss out what they were saying. Like learning an alien language, it opened up in my brain. I finally got what those Scottish miscreants were saying it. And I loved it.

The whole thing had the right mix of 90s nihilism and edgy soundtrack. So for a teenager of the era it was perfect.

So hell yes. I’m going to see the living fuck out of this one. The bonus is, Diane hasn’t aged a day. Which I have mixed feelings about…

Leave a Reply

