Tuning Out

I’ve made no secret of my political thoughts and affiliations. When this election started I was with Hillary until Bernie made waves. Like everyone else I was sad when he lost but I went back to Hil.

I loved Bernie’s policies. But switching back to Hil was okay because I felt she was the most qualified candidate in the entire history of this country.

Unfortunately the rest of the country didn’t agree.

Smarter people than me are trying to work out what it means and what’s next. Who fucking knows to be honest. We try and survive. I guess.

We make do. I guess.

Although our collective faith in the American people was misplaced. We can’t forget that we’re all going to be suffering, Trump voters too.

I can’t tell you what to do. You’re going to have to find a way to get through this. I’m going to keep writing and hoping that I’ll blow up. I guess that’s all I can do. But for a little while I’m going to take a break from everything social media and avoid the news the best I can.

The only thing I could tell you is that if you’re reading this, and if you’re an American, is that the opposition is every bit as human as you are. Find the commonality.

The opposition loves their country just like you. They have their own fears, their own hopes. They have families that love them. They have children and grandchildren that are their world. They are your brothers and sisters. They are your children. They are your parents, aunts, uncles, neices, nephews, and cousins.

We’re still Americans goddammit. The election is over. Lets start acting like it.

Leave a Reply

