I know it’s been a while. I’ve been busy writing. I’m so close to finishing The Last Dragoons script I can taste it.

However, Gotham is back on and because I love most things Batman related, its my guilty pleasure.

Well, almost everything Batman related. I hated Batman vs. Superman. Fuck that movie.

However, I’m not really feeling Season 3 of Gotham. I couldn’t put my finger on why though until the episode “Smile Like You Mean it.” Then it clicked, they chose the wrong focus for the series.

First, I do want to say that I like Jim Gordon but he’s not interesting enough to keep my attention. But you know who can? The bad guys.

Gotham works best when it’s campy and fun. You don’t want to see the bad guys win, but you want to know what crazy shit they’re up to.

So instead of a story about a regular cop (Jim Gordon), they could change the focus to how the villains are taking over the city.

Just imagine a Gotham where these weirdo freaks are battling it out with the old school gangsters. Gordon would still have a major part but he wouldn’t be the focus.

By the time the series ends we would see why Gotham needs Batman. The freaks would have completely taken over and the GCPD would be completely powerless to stop them.

The final shot of the series would be of a black cape flapping in the wind.

Don’t get me wrong, Gotham has me for the long haul. But I don’t have to like it.

Leave a Reply

